June 18, 2014

Legislative Audit Advisory Commission Report Finds $153 Million Reserve In 2013

The bicameral, bipartisan Legislative Audit Advisory Commission chaired by Rep. Mark Keller (R-Perry)  Wednesday voted to accept the audit report of the General Assembly’s finances for the 2012-13 fiscal year as conducted by an independent certified public accounting firm.
The annual audit of the various legislative departments and legislative service agencies revealed a reserve of $153,561,715, as of June 30, 2013. The audit was carried out by Mitchell & Titus, LLP, of Philadelphia.
The full audit and report, along with audits and reports dating back to 2007, can be viewed on the Pennsylvania General Assembly website.
“We strive to be as open and transparent with the public as possible about the findings of the annual audit, which we have made fully accessible and easy to comprehend,” said Rep. Keller. “It is important to maintain an adequate reserve to ensure the independent and continued operation of the General Assembly in the event of a government shutdown, including one created by a budget stalemate, for example.”
Below is a breakdown of the reserves included in the audit:
-- Senate – $50,154,762
-- House of Representatives – $71,810,865
-- Legislative Reference Bureau – $5,265,821
-- Legislative Budget and Finance Committee – $962,718
-- Legislative Data Processing Committee – $15,195,814
-- Joint State Government Commission – $523,736
-- Local Government Commission – $363,669
-- Legislative Air and Water Pollution Control Commission – $267,011
-- LAAC – $156,250
-- Legislative Office for Research Liaison – $0.00
-- Independent Regulatory Review Commission – $810,252
-- Capitol Preservation Committee – $3,144,306
-- Independent Fiscal Office – $1,632,668
-- Pennsylvania Legislative Reapportionment Commission – $979,934
-- Commonwealth Mail Processing Center – $2,293,900
The members of the commission are: Rep. Keller, Rep. Florindo Fabrizio (D-Erie), Sen. Patrick Browne (R-Lehigh), Sen. Vincent Hughes (D-Philadelphia), Kevin Mitchell (House appointee), Jacqueline Whitcomb (House appointee), Merritt Reitzel (Senate appointee), and Ira Weiss (Senate appointee).
The LAAC was formed as a result of Act 151 of 1970. The commission consists of eight members, including a majority and a minority member of the House of Representatives and two public members appointed by the speaker of the House of Representatives; and a majority and a minority member of the Senate and two public members appointed by the president pro tempore of the Senate.
The Commission’s function is twofold. It examines the standards of audits performed under the provisions of section 10 of Article VIII, of the Constitution of Pennsylvania, and recommends measures for the improvement of pre-auditing of the financial affairs of the Commonwealth. It also reports annually recommendations and suggested legislation, if any, for the improvement of auditing in the Commonwealth, and particularly as it pertains to the Legislature.
A copy of the full audit is available online.