November 16, 2016

More Of The Same In Senate Republican, Democratic Leadership

The same Senate Republican Leadership team will be leading the Senate when the new session convenes January 3.
Sen. Joe Scarnati (R-Jefferson) was nominated for President Pro Tempore, Sen. Jake Corman (R-Centre) was elected Majority Leader and Sen. Patrick Browne (R-Lehigh) returns as Majority Chair of the Senate Appropriations Committee.
Rounding out the Republican Leadership are--
-- Whip: John Gordner (R-Columbia)
-- Caucus Chair: Bob Mensch (R-Montgomery)
-- Caucus Secretary: Richard Alloway (R-Franklin)
-- Caucus Administrator: Chuck McIlhinney (R-Bucks)
-- Policy Committee Chair: David Argall (R-Schuylkill)
Senate Republicans gained 3 new seats in the new session bringing the Republican - Democrat split to 34 to 16, the largest Republican majority in 66 years.
Senate Democrats
Sen. Jay Costa (D-Allegheny) was again elected as Minority Leader of the Senate,  Sen. Anthony Williams (D-Philadelphia) was re-elected as Minority Whip and Sen. Vincent Hughes (D-Philadelphia) will return as Minority Chair of the Senate Appropriations Committee.
Completing the Senate Democratic Leadership roster are--
-- Caucus Chair: Sen. Wayne Fontana (D-Allegheny)
-- Caucus Secretary: Sen. Larry Farnese (D-Philadelphia)
-- Caucus Administrator:  Sen. John Yudichak (D-Luzerne)
-- Policy Committee Chair: Sen. Lisa Boscola (D-Lehigh)
Related Story:
House Republican, Democrat Leadership Elections Yield No Surprises